Bulletin Vlog Communication Cards Publications Public VP Library DeaFestival Contact Us Sitemap
Search KCDHH:

Information on Hearing Aids

Appearing on this site does not constitute an endorsement by the Kentucky Commission on the Deaf and Hard of Hearing. KCDHH shall not be responsible for the acts of any listed resource nor omissions.

#

A wide variety of hearing aids of different sizes with an array of different features are currently available. Unlike glasses, hearing aids cannot correct a hearing loss but aid in amplifying sound. Each individual has different needs based on their specific hearing loss and should consult a hearing healthcare professional for an evaluation and, if needed, to determine which hearing aid would best fit their needs.

There are a variety of hearing healthcare professionals that specialize in hearing loss. KCDHH does not refer consumers to specific hearing healthcare professionals. You can check your local Yellow Pages to locate an Audiologist, Otologist/Neurotologist, ENT and Hearing Instrument Specialist, or contact the following boards to assist you with locating a specialist in your area.

Audiologists

Hearing aid specialists

 


 

Choosing a Hearing Aid

As a consumer, you should keep yourself well informed when purchasing a hearing aid. Your Guide to Buying Hearing Aids, an excellent resource published by the Better Hearing Institute, has been designed to answer the many questions you may have when trying to choose a hearing aid.

 


 

Financial Assistance for Hearing Aids

There are many organizations around the state and nation that offer financial assistance of varying degrees for the purchase of hearing aids. Please contact individual organizations for guidelines and applications.

 


 

Hearing Aids for Children

The Kentucky Commission for Children with Special Health Care Needs also provides audiological and related services for children up to age 21. Eligibility requirements include a condition amenable to medical treatment, a financial need to pay for the care or the inability to get similar care through other sources.

KRS 304.17A-132 Coverage for Hearing Aids

This law requires health benefit plans to provide coverage for hearing aids and related services for persons under 18 years of age. It also requires all health benefit plans for state employees to provide coverage for hearing aids and related services for dependents under 18 years of age.

 


 

Additional Hearing Aid Resources

Hearing Aid Insurance Hearing Aid Accessories
To cover loss and damage after the
manufacturer's warranty has expired.
To help protect and maintain your hearing aid.
Discovery Hearing Aid Warranties Hearing Planet
ESCO ADCO Hearing Products
Midwest Hearing Industries Hearing Help Express
Sound Aid Hearing Aid Warranties Hearing USA